Tuesday, 23 October 2018

Login     |     Logout

About VSCA

The Vintage Snowmobile Magazine is published quarterly by Meagher, Inc. Mike Meagher and his wife Judy took it over in 2005 and have plans to publish the magazine for years to come. Below is some of the history of the VSCA.  

Vintage Snowmobile
Club of America

The Vintage Snowmobile Club of America (VSCA) was founded by Gary Webster in 1987. The club organized and spread across the Snowbelt of the US and Canada. The club decided to add a news letter to share with all members. Through the years different Presidents took a turn of running the club. During this time the club was turned into cooperation and the news letter turned into a Magazine. The Magazine was named the Vintage Snowmobiler, then on to the Vintage Snowmobile Magazine which it is still presently named.

In March of 2005 my wife, Judy and I (Mike Meagher) had the opportunity to purchase the rights and keep the magazine alive. In doing so, Judy and I wanted to maintain the club atmosphere that made the VSCA and Vintage Snowmobiling what it was then and still is today. One of the best groups of people in the snowmobile community!

As the magazine started covering many show across the US and Canada, myself and others soon realized the workmanship in this sleds was so competitive. We really needed more than area and regional show. We needed to put these sleds in competition on the National level. This was a step to continue to maintain the Club atmosphere we were hoping to achive.

After collecting as much information from the show promoters in the East, Midwest, Western US and across Canada. I then contacted Joey Hallstrom and Scott Schuster. Joey was widely known for his ability to promote and get things done in his position working for Arctic Cat in Thief River Falls, Mn. Scott was a successful Arctic Cat dealer down the road in Grand Forks. At our very first meeting we all decided it was time for a National Show and the 1st Annual VSCA Vintage National Show Championships date was set to be held on xxxx, 2006 in Thief River Falls, Mn.

It was also decided the VCSA Nationals would move to a different region each year to make it as fair to everyone to participate as possible. The show would start in the Midwest, go East, and then to the west. Then start all over again! The 1st Annual was a large success, as all of the shows have been in all regions since. The shows have been a success because of the great promoters and participants we have in the Vintage Snowmobile sport. Following is a list of the VSCA National Shows year by Year and the Crowned VSCA National Show Champion.

    1. 2006 Thief River Falls, MN            David Larson                      Polaris TX 500


    1. 2007 West Springfield, MA           Howard Billington                Viking Vanquisher


    1. 2008 Coeurd’Alene, ID                   Dan Lewallen                     Chaparal


    1. 2009 Thief river falls, Mn               Nancy Ische                        793 Puma Mod


    1. 2010 Boonville, NY                        Tommy Todd                     71 TR 440 Bolens


    1. 2011 Billings, MO                           Jacobsen  Brothers           72 Polaris Starfire


    1. 2012 St Ingnace, MI                       Greg Karbowski                 74 Rollo Flex, Wild One


    1. 2013 Boonville, NY                         Bob Weaver                       71 AMF Ski-Daddler XXX


    1. 2014 West Yellowstone, MO          Wille Ruchet                        1966 Polaris Mustang

The magazine is published in March, June, September and December. You can contact us from this page.